A Question Leads To More Questions

I ended last week’s entry with this short paragraph: “His last and final question brought a smile to my face; and then, as I answered him, I laughed. I laughed because he is a 14 year-old boy, and that’s the kind of question I expect from 14 year-old boys. What do you think the question was? If you want to know, send a note and ask.”

Well, as it turns out, my 14-year-old turned out to be someone many readers were interested in. And within minutes of posting the entry the most engaging 72-hour conversation began between me and you–my readers.

So, this week, I thought I’d share some of the responses and excerpts from our conversations.

Most of your requests for the “final question” were short and precise and looked exactly like this: “I want to know!”

Others were different. One parent wrote: “This future mom, of a 14-year-old boy (11 years away), wants to know.” Some of you used capital letters, like this parent: “WHAT was the question? I hate the suspense!” Another wrote saying “I NEED to know.” And yes, she took the time to bold-face and underline the verb “to NEED.” I responded to her IMMEDIATELY.

A few of you were more philosophical about it. As in, “Please elucidate – this has been a most interesting read.” One reader’s “need to know” was also analytical, he wrote: “Craig, any insight into an adolescent’s head is a rare phenomenon. So, please share.” This line of thinking-regarding the phenomenon we know as the “adolescent”- was expanded by another reader who wrote, “OK, my curiosity has peaked.” She went on to admit, “I can perhaps guess what goes on in the mind of a fourteen year old adolescent boy, but won’t.”
In all, I received responses from at least 14 different countries. This one came from the United States: “Greetings from NYC, I’m stuck between an earthquake and hurricane, so I’ll bite. What was the 3rd question?”

Asking for the final question wasn’t all my readers did. Many of you did much more than that. Thirty-eight of you offered what you thought the question might be.  Here are a few snippets from your emails:

  • “What are my chances of making the team?”  
  • “Will we get a chance to socialize on trips?”
  • “The question had to be about food and entertainment. Right?
  • “After questions about homework and playing time, what else is on the mind of a 14-year-old boy? Perhaps a question about “why the girl’s soccer team plays at a different time?”
  • “Something about your record for winning as a coach?”
  • “My mind is boggled with many possibilities, but I am going to put in only one. Did he ask, “Do I get to carry my Iphone or any electronic gadget?”

One reader wrote to me sharing her thoughts and within seconds I received another email from her. The second one said this: “Whew. Craig, when I sent out my response to you, a minute ago, I panicked because I thought [it would go public for all readers]. I breathed a sigh of relief when [I realized] it went only to you.” Having read her second note, wouldn’t you all just love to know what she thought the question was? I’m not telling.

Anyway, once I started sending you the “final question.” The conversations evolved. Here’s a look at what came back from you once you knew the young man’s final question was: “Will there be girls watching me play?”

  • “That’s priceless!”
  • “And here’s me thinking his question was about the offside rule in soccer.”
  • “I knew that was the answer!! I was going to ask, if the question related to girls.”
  • “How refreshingly honest!”
  • “Ha ha ha, I knew it.”
  • “Certainly an impressive order of priorities for a 14 year old.”

One mother ‘s response, to discovering the final question, was: “I think you’re talking about my son.” This was a reader from my school, so at first her comment made me nervous. What if she was right? What if I was talking about her son? I didn’t know the parent, or whether or not my 14-year old protagonist was her son. So, I wrote back saying, “I’m not sure if he’s your son or not…” The mother responded, “I was only kidding, my son is in Kindergarten.” I was relieved; but being an educator, and a father of three sons, I had to warn her about something. So, I wrote back saying, “Your son might be in Kindergarten, but one never knows at what developmental age a boy, or a girl for that matter, might ask Are the girls (or in the case of a girl, “Are the boys…”) going to watch me play?” To which she replied. “LOL!”

One father wrote to me, perhaps speaking for many fathers and mothers out there, with: “I too would welcome the opportunity to think like a 14-year old boy again – albeit for a moment!”

And so the conversations continued through the first day and into the second. By Monday, I had received and sent over 500 emails. Luckily my wife was out of town, visiting our sons back in the States, for the week, so this enry had became my companion. It was an absolute blast. So, thank you to everyone who jumped in on my prompt. We will do it again soon.

I want to end by sharing a lengthier excerpt. This one could be the nudge for another conversation. A mother sent me this:

“Craig, I’m dying to know what the question is. I have a 15 year old son, who is just as precocious as the one described and I don’t have a clue about what goes on in his mind. We were having dinner at a 5-star restaurant last week. Clearly an expensive and special treat. Out of the blue, he asked me if he was allowed to date. I told him he was. Then he said, this is where I’ll come on a date. My husband and I were flabbergasted. A 15 year old, going on his first date, and to a 5-star restaurant…”

Yes, there’s no doubt as parents and educators we have much more to talk about; many more topics to explore. And miles and miles before we sleep…

Until next week, Craig

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *