Photo Choices For Header

Picking the photograph for the Header of my blog was tough. Not because of a lack of choices, but because I have so many.

Here are the other four finalists from my final five. I will probably rotate them on and off (along with others), as time passes.  After all, my blog is called Ashoka Chakra, and it is about renewal and change. 

Option 1:I call this “Okie in a Sari.” Okie, meaning a person from the great state of Oklahoma! It’s a picture of my mother with group of Maharashtrian (the Indian state where Bombay–now Mumbai–was/is) villagers in the early 1970s. Guess which one she is? By the way, my mother memoir, also called “An Okie in a Sari,” should be published soon.

Okie in a Sari
Okie in a Sari

Option 2: I found this photograph (shot by my dad), of a slice of the Grand Canyon, very appropriate as a Header for my blog.  Guess why?

Grand Canyon

Grand Canyon

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Option 3:Three Dhobis on the Beach in Mumbai–this is no further than 50 meters from my apartment on Carter Road. Again, the idea of a “chakra” or a “wheel of change” is deeply embedded in this shot (another one of my dad’s from his last visit to India).
Option 3: Dhobis on the Beach in Mumbai

Option 4: Pali Hill Vegetable Market in Bandra, Mumbai. India. I just love tomatoes in India! I think my friend Andrew Hoover would say, “…they’re the best tomatoes in the world.” But then again, he thinks all things “Indian” are pretty darn close to being the best in the world.  And he’s pretty darn close to being right.

Option 4: Pali Hill Vegatable Market in Bandra, Mumbai.

Pali Hill Vegetable Market

 

 

 

 

 

Those are the final four.

The photo I picked for my Header is one of my wife Lisa and I looking across an Alaskan Lake–it was taken on a lovely day in July.  We were celebrating my parent’s 50th anniversary.  We had three generations of Johnsons on the shore that day. The Johnson Chakra.

 I’ll share the list of my top 10 choices for Blog Titles in a later entry.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *