Bombs Help Build The 21st Century Curriculum

21st Century Curriculum–Designed by 3 Bomb Blasts in Mumbai:

Indian authorities have confirmed that on July 13th there were three explosions in Mumbai: At the Opera House district, Jhaveri Bazar, and at Dadar West.

India, as we all know—and that’s why many of us have chosen to live, work, and raise our families here—is one of the most remarkable countries in the world; an ancient civilization that never ceases to amaze me on an intellectual, spiritual, and emotional level every single day. And I mean it when I say: Every Single Day!

Like most who live in India, I love this country. I feel safer here than anywhere I have ever lived, and I’ve lived in Tonkawa, Oklahoma! Last year, my first year back in Mumbai, after being gone 20 years (I grew up in India from 1970-1981), I felt more engaged with humanity (with this thing called “life”) than ever before.

However, having said all of that, this too is true: Entrenched in India’s enormous and complex beauty there is something else. Down in the deepest, darkest places of India’s psyche there are pockets of fear, and pain, and loss, and agony, and hatred.  There is no doubt that India has come far, in the last few decades, in confronting, acknowledging, and dealing with the hate; come far in their healing process. Yet bombs exploded last night, and will probably explode again before they stop for good.

Ironically, in the wake of last night’s incident, I spent this morning visiting possible sites on which the American School of Bombay plans to expand our school.  I think this morning’s excursion was symbolic of my hope for and faith in the future.  I mean, here I was out and about town “campus-shopping,” the day after three bombs exploded. As a matter of fact, my efforts had more momentum, and a stronger sense of purpose.  After all, Mumbai needs outstanding International Schools; it needs access to the best schools in the world. In fact, India and the rest of the world need more outstanding 21st Century International schools.  After all,  schools, and the children we have the privileged to work with, are the solution.

I guess writing on my blog tonight is my way of saying: As an educator living in India, the bombs did not terrorize me, they energized me.  I’m jazzed, more than ever, about the future role of education here in India (especially in my beloved Maximum City), and around the globe.

Little do the terrorist know, but with every bomb, with every act of hate, on their part our curriculum gets stronger and our students more prepared to save the world.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *